Faculty of Social Sciences

This subject support guide includes the following discipline: Faculty of Social Sciences

Social Sciences

Location

Most programmes in the faculty of Social Sciences taught from the Gweru Main Campus whilst a few are taught from the School of Social Work Campus in Harare.


Gweru Main Campus

Midlands State University

Main Library

Gweru Campus

Senga Road

Senga Gweru

Tel. +263 54 2260359 Ext. 2466

Fax: +263 54 2260233


School of Social Work Campus

Midlands State University

School of Social Work Library

Cnr Chinhoyi and Grant Street.

Harare

Tel. +263 54 2260359 Ext. 2466

Fax: +263 54 2260233

Library Opening Hours

Gweru Campus Main Library

Monday - Friday
0900hrs - 0000hrs
Saterday & Sunday
0800hrs - 1700hrs
Closed on Public Holidays


School of Social Works Library

Monday - Friday
0900hrs - 2000hrs
Saturday & Sunday
0900hrs - 1700hrs
Closed on Public Holidays


COVID-19 Alert

Stay Healthy, Be Safe

Defeat the Spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Introduction

Welcome to the Faculty of Social Sciences guide. This is your gateway to both hardcopy and electronic resources. The guide proffers a myriad of resources as well as services that are germane to support the information needs for all students in the Faculty. The guide directs you to resources such as; e-journals, e-books, dissertations/theses, research papers, conference papers, public lectures, speeches and seminar presentations.

What are the Library's Service Standards

The Midlands State University Library is committed to providing high quality services to our users. We treasure customer feedback and strive to improve our performance and ensure that the services provided are responsive to the needs of our clients. In support of this commitment the Library produced a Library Charter. The Charter is a guiding principle that directs the way the Library serves, behaves and holds itself accountable for its actions. It also attempts to demonstrate the Library's total commitment to valuing its customers by providing a memorable experience and ensuring that every customer interaction results in positive experiences.

CLIENT EXPECTATIONS

Expect from us:

  • Prompt, and courteous service
  • Helpful well-trained staff who will treat you with respect
  • Fair and equitable access to our collections and services
  • Collections which aim to meet your needs and are well maintaned and accessible

LIBRARY EXPECTATIONS

Help us to help you by:

  • Treating other people in the library with respect and courtesy, whether these are other clients or library staff
  • Treating library facilities, equipment, collections and property with due care
  • Assisting staff understand your needs clearly
  • Providing us wth feedback on how we may improve our services, or we can resolve a specific service problem

Access to Library Resources

The MSU Library collection is multidisciplinary and it covers the entire gamut of academic programmes offered by the institution. For one to access the library, you need to be an MSU bonafide client, i.e. a registered student or a current employee of the institution. For non-MSU students or staff, clients are required to request for authority to use the library and subsequently pay the fees to be recognised as 'Approved readers'.There are different borrowing privileges depending on the cohort a client belongs to and these are as follows;

  1. Teaching staff - Allowed to borrow a maximum of 8 books at a time for a period of 1 month
  2. Non-Teaching staff - Allowed to borrow a maximum of 6 books at a time for a period of 1 month
  3. Postgraduate students - Allowed to borrow a maximum of 3 books at a time for a period of 7 days
  4. Undergraduate students - Allowed to borrow a maximum of 3 books at a time for a period of 7 days
  5. Approved readers - Do not have any borrowing rights. They are only allowed access to library materials within the building.

School Of Social Work Library

The Library is located at the School of Social Work Campus situated in Harare at Corner Grant Street and Chinhoyi Street. The Library collection supports the teaching, learning and research requirements of the Midlands State University. Comprehensive collections are maintained for social welfare administration, Introduction to Social Work, Health Care, Community Mental Health, Child Welfare, Social Policy Analysis and Implementation, Social Planning, Ethics and Values in Social Work, Human Behaviour and Social Environment, Human Rights, Law in Social Work as well as Sociology of Change and Development.

librarian
Claudious Chuma
Contact Details:
School of Social work Library
Office Extension : 2466
+263 78 675 5935
Cell +263 77 374 7889

        

Notices

librarian

Faculty Librarian

Nyakurerwa
Austin Nyakurerwa
Contact Details:
Hellenics Library
Office Extension : 2065
+263 78 675 5935
Cell +263 77 374 7889

        

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Disability Support

The Midlands State University Disability Resource Centre Libraries (DRC) are located at both the Gweru and Harare Campuses to provide services to students with special needs. The Libraries have equipment such as braille embossers, computers and magnifying readers as well as the Jaws software which assist users with special needs to efficiently access information.

For further assistance please contact matsae(a)staff.msu.ac.zw

Off Campus Access to e-Resources

You are able to access all of the electronic resources if you are off campus in the same way you access the resources on campus. Click here to access e-Journals and here to access e-Books off campus. You will be asked for your e-Learning credentials.

Latest Training Events

Faculty of Social Sciences Block Release Orientation.
Date: 21 September 2020
Time: 1125hrs to 1300hrs.
Venue : Gweru Main Campus Library

Faculty of Commerce Block Release Orientation
Date: 21 September 2020
Time:
1105hrs.
Venue : Graduate School of Business Leadership Hall

Untitled Document

Library website

All information © 2020 Midlands State University. All rights reserved.